Matt Gaetz Reaches Limit, Threatens Mitch McConnell: ‘Omnibus Is an Assault on the American People’

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) and thirty other House Republicans have issued a threat to Senate GOP Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and any Republican senators who vote for the massive $1.7 trillion omnibus spending package.

They issued a letter that said:

“The released legislative text confirmed this omnibus is an assault on the American people.

“As such, we reiterate that if any omnibus passes in the remaining days of this Congress, we will oppose and whip opposition to any legislative priority of those senators who vote for its passage – including the Republican leader.

“We will oppose any rule, any consent request, suspension voice vote, or roll call vote of any such Senate bill, and will otherwise do everything in our power to thwart even the smallest legislative and policy efforts of those senators.

“This 4,155-page bill spends $1.7 trillion to further empower the Biden administration’s tyrannical attack on the liberty and security of our constituents, and it must be opposed with any fiber of political fortitude Senate Republicans still have.

“It will add to our $31 trillion national debt, digging a deeper hole for our children and grandchildren to crawl out of.

“And because almost every Senate Republican has bloviated about inflation and the national debt at some point in the past two years, a vote for this bill should be viewed as a blatant display of hypocrisy.”

Reps. Chip Roy (R-TX), Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Scott Perry (R-PA), and Andy Biggs (R-AZ), co-signers on Tuesday, were joined Wednesday by Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA), Louie Gohmert (R-CO), Bill Posey (R-FL), Rep.-elect Keith Self (R-TX), and others.

“The reality is this kind of chest-thumping and immaturity doesn’t instill confidence in their ability to lead,” said Sen. Kevin Cramer (R-ND).

“Now, maybe it helps Kevin get elected Speaker.”

Later, Gaetz collected more votes from:

Reps. Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), Barry Moore (R-AL), Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA), Eric Burlinson (R-MO), Jody Hice (R-GA), Mayra Flores (R-TX), Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Yvette Herrell (R-NM), and Rep.-elect Keith Self (R-TX).

Share this:

Advertise with Slay News
join telegram


Who is the best president?

By completing this poll, you gain access to our free newsletter. Unsubscribe at any time.

By David Hawkins

David Hawkins is a writer who specializes in political commentary and world affairs. He's been writing professionally since 2014.

Notify of
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x