Mitch McConnell Survives Revolt, Wins Vote to Remain Senate Minority Leader

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY) has survived a revolt from other Republicans and won the vote to remain the Senate minority leader.

Senate Republicans voted Wednesday for the GOP leadership role after Sen. Rick Scott (R-FL), the National Republican Senatorial Committee chairman, challenged McConnell.

McConnell received 37 votes while Scott received just 10 votes.

One senator voted present.

Sens. Tom Cotton (R-AR) and Senate Republican Conference Chairman John Barrasso (R-WY) nominated McConnell to serve another two years as GOP leader.

Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI) demanded a change in leadership and nominated Scott.

“We collectively I think had a good discussion about what happened in the election and what happens in the next election,” McConnell said.

“I’m grateful for the opportunity to continue to serve.”

He said earlier: “Every one of our candidates knew what they were for, expressed it quite clearly.

“It’s pretty obvious, and all of you have been writing about it, what happened.

“We underperformed among independents and moderates because their impression of many of the people in our party in leadership roles is that they’re involved in chaos, negativity, excessive attacks, and it frightened independent and moderate Republican voters,”

In a recent interview, 2024 GOP presidential candidate President Donald Trump said:

“I think Rick Scott would be much better than McConnell.

Slay the latest News for free!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

“I know McConnell well. I guess probably better than most.

“I’m not a fan of McConnell and I am a fan of Rick Scott, and you have others in there that would be very good.”

According to Axios:

Sen. John Thune of South Dakota was reelected as minority whip.

Sen. John Barrasso of Wyoming was reelected as conference chair.

Sen. Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia was elected vice conference chair.

Sen. Steve Daines of Montana was elected to replace Scott as chairman of the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC).

join telegram


Who is the best president?

By completing this poll, you gain access to our free newsletter. Unsubscribe at any time.

By David Hawkins

David Hawkins is a writer who specializes in political commentary and world affairs. He's been writing professionally since 2014.

Notify of


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x